Pakistan General Election Result 2024 live: Tight race as vote results trickle in

By Feb 9, 2024
Pakistan General Election Result 2024

Pakistan General Election Result 2024

Pakistan is currently tallying votes in a Pakistan General Election Result 2024 overshadowed by violence instigated by armed groups and disruptions to mobile phone services. Over 128 million citizens were registered to choose representatives for the National Assembly and the four provincial legislatures.

The election results will be provided below as soon as they become available.


  1. Pakistan election 2024: By the numbers
  2. Pakistan election 2024: How voting operates
  3. ‘Guerilla campaign’: Imran Khan’s election strategy from prison
  4. Pakistan’s election: Will the new government foster economic stability?

How Voting Operates in Pakistan
Each voter possesses the right to cast two votes: one for the National Assembly and another for the provincial assembly.

The National Assembly comprises 336 seats, with 266 determined through direct voting. Additionally, 60 seats are designated for women and 10 for minorities, allocated based on a 5 percent proportional representation in the federal parliament.

A political party or coalition must secure at least 134 seats to establish the government.

National Seat Distribution
Following the 2023 national census, constituencies underwent a delimitation process, resulting in boundary alterations and a reduction in seats from 272 to 266.

  • Punjab: 141 seats
  • Sindh: 61 seats
  • Khyber Pakhtunkhwa: 45 seats
  • Balochistan: 16 seats
  • Islamabad Capital Territory: 3 seats

Leading Candidates for Pakistan’s Next Prime Minister
A crackdown on the primary opposition party, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), and its leader, former Prime Minister Imran Khan, raised concerns about the fairness of the elections. Here are the key parties in the country:

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PMLN)
Nawaz Sharif, a three-time prime minister, returned to Pakistan in late 2023 after a four-year absence to assume leadership of the party. Several corruption cases that led to his ousting as prime minister in 2017 have since been dropped. His younger brother, Shehbaz Sharif, also briefly served as prime minister in collaboration with major opposition parties to oust Khan in April 2022. If PMLN forms the government, it remains uncertain which brother might become the prime minister, but Nawaz is likely to retain significant influence regardless.

Seats won in 2018: 64
Seats won in 2013: 126

Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP)
Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, scion of the Bhutto dynasty, leads the party. He assumes leadership after a brief stint as foreign minister following Khan’s removal as PM in 2022. As one of the youngest mainstream politicians, his campaign focuses on climate change, gender equity in the economy, and promoting civility among parties. His grandfather, Zulfikar Ali Bhutto, and mother, Benazir Bhutto, served as prime ministers, while his father, Asif Ali Zardari, was Pakistan’s president from 2008 to 2013.

Seats won in 2018: 43
Seats won in 2013: 34

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI)
Cricketer-turned-politician Imran Khan leads the opposition PTI party. Currently incarcerated on charges of corruption and divulging state secrets, he spearheaded protests against the country’s powerful military after his removal from office in 2022. His disqualification as a candidate stemmed from a corruption conviction. PTI has governed Khyber Pakhtunkhwa for the past decade and Punjab, the country’s most influential province, for the majority of the last five years.

Seats won in 2018: 116
Seats won in 2013: 28

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *